Skip to content

Altss Research / Venture case 01

BlockFi

BlockFi Inc. and affiliated debtors; Jersey City cryptocurrency financial-services businessUnited StatesCrypto financial servicesWind-down

BlockFi announced a $3bn private valuation in March 2021. It and eight affiliates filed Chapter 11 cases in November 2022. Its plan became effective on October 24, 2023; a subsequent court opinion records the debtors’ continuing wind-down.

Altss Research · Evidence reviewed · Historical event record

Historical private valuation

$3bn

Company-announced valuation following completion of $350m Series D; pre/post-money not specified in issuer release.

Wind-down

No sale price

Chapter 11 plan became effective. Effective date of plan and ensuing wind-down, independently recorded in a 2025 Bankruptcy Court opinion.

These figures have different valuation bases and dates. Their difference is not a measure of investor losses. Methodology ↗

The documented timeline

  1. Private funding valuation disclosed

    Company-announced valuation following completion of $350m Series D; pre/post-money not specified in issuer release.

  2. Chapter 11 cases commenced

    BlockFi and eight affiliates filed voluntary Chapter 11 cases in the District of New Jersey.

  3. Chapter 11 plan became effective

    Effective date of plan and ensuing wind-down, independently recorded in a 2025 Bankruptcy Court opinion.

Source documents

Publication and access dates identify the evidence used for this case.

BlockFi Completes $350 Million Series D ↗

BlockFi via PR Newswire · Primary source · Published Mar 11, 2021 · Accessed Oct 26, 2026

BlockFi Commences Restructuring Proceeding to Stabilize Business and Maximize Value for all Clients and Stakeholders ↗

BlockFi via Business Wire; syndicated by FinancialContent · Primary source · Published Nov 28, 2022 · Accessed Oct 26, 2026

In re BlockFi Inc., case 22-19361-MBK, Document 2586 ↗

U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of New Jersey / govinfo · Primary source · Published Jul 1, 2025 · Accessed Oct 26, 2026

Continue through the register