Altss Research / Venture case 09
Pluralsight
Pluralsight completed an out-of-court recapitalization in August 2024 that transferred ownership to an existing lender group and reduced funded debt by approximately $1.2 billion.
Altss Research · Evidence reviewed · Historical event record
Historical private valuation
>$1bnPluralsight’s official history states that the December 2016 $30 million Series C brought its valuation above $1 billion. The displayed numeric value is the threshold only; the exact valuation was not disclosed.
Restructuring
No sale priceLender-led recapitalization completed. Company announcement specified 100% ownership by the investor group. Lenders’ counsel confirmed an August completion and approximately $1.2 billion of funded-debt reduction, with a $225 million delayed-draw term facility and $50 million revolving facility. No company sale value was disclosed.
These figures have different valuation bases and dates. Their difference is not a measure of investor losses. Methodology ↗
The documented timeline
Private valuation crossed $1 billion
The company’s history identifies a $30 million Series C from Insight Venture Partners and ICONIQ Capital and a valuation exceeding $1 billion.
Debt and ownership reorganized
Davis Polk, counsel to the administrative agent and first-lien lenders, confirmed completion of the out-of-court recapitalization in August.
Lender ownership announced
The company identified a group led by Blue Owl-managed funds, including funds managed by Ares, Goldman Sachs Asset Management and Oaktree, as the 100% owners under the recapitalization agreement.
Source documents
Publication and access dates identify the evidence used for this case.
Pluralsight · Primary source · Publication date not stated · Accessed Oct 26, 2026
Pluralsight · Primary source · Published Aug 28, 2024 · Accessed Oct 26, 2026
Davis Polk (counsel to agent and first-lien lenders) · Primary source · Published Aug 30, 2024 · Accessed Oct 26, 2026
Pluralsight / SEC · Primary source · Published Apr 27, 2018 · Accessed Oct 26, 2026