# Pluralsight: Lender-led recapitalization completed

Pluralsight, Inc. and affiliates; pre-IPO operating predecessor Pluralsight Holdings, LLC · United States · Technology education

Evidence reviewed Oct 26, 2026. Historical event record.

Pluralsight completed an out-of-court recapitalization in August 2024 that transferred ownership to an existing lender group and reduced funded debt by approximately $1.2 billion.

## Historical private valuation

>$1bn · Dec 2016

Pluralsight’s official history states that the December 2016 $30 million Series C brought its valuation above $1 billion. The displayed numeric value is the threshold only; the exact valuation was not disclosed.

[Pluralsight](https://www.pluralsight.com/newsroom/timeline)

## Documented event

Lender-led recapitalization completed · Aug 2024

No transaction price shown. Company announcement specified 100% ownership by the investor group. Lenders’ counsel confirmed an August completion and approximately $1.2 billion of funded-debt reduction, with a $225 million delayed-draw term facility and $50 million revolving facility. No company sale value was disclosed.

[Pluralsight](https://www.pluralsight.com/newsroom/press-releases/pluralsight-announces-agreement-to-recapitalize-business), [Davis Polk (counsel to agent and first-lien lenders)](https://www.davispolk.com/experience/pluralsight-recapitalization)

## What changed

The lender-led recapitalization replaced the ownership structure while funding continued operations. Its new credit facilities were financing commitments, not an acquisition price. The company disclosed that its December 2016 private round exceeded a $1 billion valuation without providing an exact amount.

## Timeline

### Dec 2016 — Private valuation crossed $1 billion

The company’s history identifies a $30 million Series C from Insight Venture Partners and ICONIQ Capital and a valuation exceeding $1 billion.

[Pluralsight](https://www.pluralsight.com/newsroom/timeline)

### Aug 2024 — Debt and ownership reorganized

Davis Polk, counsel to the administrative agent and first-lien lenders, confirmed completion of the out-of-court recapitalization in August.

[Davis Polk (counsel to agent and first-lien lenders)](https://www.davispolk.com/experience/pluralsight-recapitalization)

### Aug 28, 2024 — Lender ownership announced

The company identified a group led by Blue Owl-managed funds, including funds managed by Ares, Goldman Sachs Asset Management and Oaktree, as the 100% owners under the recapitalization agreement.

[Pluralsight](https://www.pluralsight.com/newsroom/press-releases/pluralsight-announces-agreement-to-recapitalize-business)

## Disclosed investors

Historical funding participation; not current ownership or investor losses.

- Insight Venture Partners — [Pluralsight](https://www.pluralsight.com/newsroom/timeline)

- ICONIQ Capital — [Pluralsight](https://www.pluralsight.com/newsroom/timeline)

## Sources

- [Pluralsight History Timeline: December 2016 Series C](https://www.pluralsight.com/newsroom/timeline) — Pluralsight; publication date not stated; accessed Oct 26, 2026; primary source.

- [Pluralsight Announces Agreement to Recapitalize Business](https://www.pluralsight.com/newsroom/press-releases/pluralsight-announces-agreement-to-recapitalize-business) — Pluralsight; published Aug 28, 2024; accessed Oct 26, 2026; primary source.

- [Pluralsight recapitalization](https://www.davispolk.com/experience/pluralsight-recapitalization) — Davis Polk (counsel to agent and first-lien lenders); published Aug 30, 2024; accessed Oct 26, 2026; primary source.

- [Pluralsight Form S-1/A: corporate and operating structure](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1725579/000119312518138923/d498179ds1a.htm) — Pluralsight / SEC; published Apr 27, 2018; accessed Oct 26, 2026; primary source.

[Methodology](https://altss.com/unicorn-tracker/methodology) · [All cases](https://altss.com/unicorn-tracker)
