Skip to content

Altss vs Dakota

15 min readCompetitor figures re-checked

Dakota Marketplace was built by fundraisers who were raising institutional capital, and it remains the reference for the US public pension and intermediary channel. Altss is an OSINT-native allocator-intelligence platform covering global family offices and institutional LPs, with the raise workflow built in: a CRM and pipeline, AI-assisted outreach, a research copilot, an inbox with a meeting notetaker, Scouter, events intelligence, and a relationship graph. Both publish their pricing, which is rare here. This page covers where each wins, honestly.

The short answer

Choose Altss when

Your raise is global or family-office weighted. 9,000+ offices against Dakota's 3,500+, plus GP coverage, emerging-manager signals, and the outreach workflow included.

Choose Dakota when

Your raise runs through US public pensions and consultants. Analysts reading board materials across 1,433 funds produce 350+ searches a year, and Dakota's marginal seat costs $1,000.

9,000+
Family offices in Altss, global
3,500+
Family offices published by Dakota
1,433
US public pension funds Dakota tracks
$16,500
Dakota's published starting price per year

#At-a-glance comparison

At-a-glance comparison of Altss and Dakota

  • Origin

    Altss
    Founded 2025 by OSINT specialists and former fund managers
    Dakota
    Built by Dakota's own fundraising team, raising institutional capital since 20061
  • Primary market

    Altss
    Global private markets: family offices, institutional LPs, GPs
    Dakota
    US institutional and intermediary allocator channel1
  • Institutional LP coverage

    Altss
    Allocator-only count not separately stated; see dated coverage definitions
    Dakota
    250,000+ LP accounts and 386,000+ verified contacts, on a broader account definition1
  • US public pension coverage

    Altss
    3,344 US public pension entities and 6,337 globally, with 543,250 LP-to-fund commitments and 48,829 allocation records4
    Dakota
    1,433 US public pension funds, with analysts reading board materials1
  • US public pension research depth

    Altss
    Pension documents, IC minutes and OCR'd allocation pages parsed automatically; no analyst desk and no search alerts
    Dakota
    Strongest in the category: analysts read board materials across all 1,433 funds1
  • Investment search alerts

    Altss
    Not provided
    Dakota
    350+ institutional searches surfaced annually1
  • Family office coverage

    Altss
    9,000+ globally4
    Dakota
    3,500+, US-weighted1
  • RIA coverage

    Altss
    38,500+ investment advisers matched to Form ADV, of which 14,700+ report private funds4
    Dakota
    17,000+ RIAs1
  • Corporate and DB/DC plans

    Altss
    Covered within the institutional LP set
    Dakota
    78,000+ corporate pension funds; 14,000+ DB, DC and Taft-Hartley plans1
  • Consultant coverage

    Altss
    42 consultant firms tagged — present as a category, not built out4
    Dakota
    1,000+ field consultants tagged; 4,000+ manager presentations to pensions1
  • GP coverage

    Altss
    GP coverage with strategy, fund status, LP base4
    Dakota
    Not a primary Dakota dataset
  • Company dataset

    Altss
    Live 35M+ companies4
    Dakota
    Private and public company coverage included1
  • International coverage

    Altss
    Global-first OSINT pipeline
    Dakota
    Growing, but North America first1
  • Update cadence

    Altss
    Source-specific dates; no universal freshness guarantee
    Dakota
    Daily research updates on contacts, accounts, and job moves1
  • Workflow model

    Altss
    The workflow is the product: CRM and pipeline, AI outreach, copilot, inbox and notetaker in one place
    Dakota
    Data feeds your workflow: Salesforce, HubSpot, DealCloud, Dynamo, Altvia, Pinnakl, Satuit, Snowflake, plus API and flat file1
  • Pricing

    Altss
    Published: Intelligence plans $15,000–$25,000/year; Fundraising OS from $25,000
    Dakota
    Published: $16,500/year for the first user, $1,000 per additional user; Salesforce app from $10,000/company/year2
  • Best for

    Altss
    Alternatives fundraising, family-office-heavy raises, international LP coverage, emerging managers
    Dakota
    US institutional fundraising, the public pension channel, intermediary and consultant sales

Dakota figures were read from dakota.com on August 6, 2026, including its published pricing. Altss figures are approved published coverage counts; no measurement date is recorded for them. The two counts are not directly comparable: Dakota counts LP accounts on a broader definition that includes intermediary and sub-accounts; Altss counts private-markets entities, which is not an LP-only count.

Dakota is the better platform for a US institutional raise, and the public pension channel is not close: analysts reading board materials across 1,433 public pension funds produce 350+ investment searches a year, and no OSINT pipeline substitutes for that. Altss is the better platform for a global or family-office-weighted alternatives raise, with 9,000+ family offices against Dakota's 3,500+, GP coverage, and the outreach workflow in the same product. Both publish pricing, which makes this an unusually easy comparison to run yourself.

Filters

  • Entity typeFamily office
  • MandatePrivate equity
  • Cheque size$5M – $25M
  • GeographyGlobal
  • SignalRecorded activity

150,000+institutional LPs · published scope

Illustrative rows · not live results
TypeRegionAUM bandDecision makersChecked
SFOUS · West$1B–$5B3Example
MFOUS · East$5B–$25B5Example
MFOUK$1B–$5B2Example
SFOCH$250M–$1B4Example
SFOCAOver $25B6Example

SourceExample reference

CheckedExample date

ContextUnknowns retained

Illustrative record layout. How the work actually looks: filter the allocator universe, and every field on every row carries the public source it came from and the date it was last checked.

#What is Altss?

Altss is an OSINT-native allocator-intelligence platform built for managers raising capital in alternative assets. It works from open-source intelligence rather than self-reported profiles: SEC filings (Form ADV, Form D, 13F), state pension CAFRs, Form 990 and 990-PF for foundations, endowment annual reports, sovereign wealth fund disclosures, verified corporate registries, and published allocator statements. That produces verified profiles of 9,000+ family offices and 150,000+ private-markets entities worldwide4.

Public records carry source-specific dates where available. No population-wide measured refresh cadence or universal verification deadline is established here. Page modified, source captured, fact observed, entity verified and aggregate measured describe different events. Check the date attached to the relevant claim; a missing verification date means unknown. Stored source history does not establish a customer-facing historical-analysis interface.

The workflow sits on the same data: a built-in CRM and pipeline, AI-assisted outreach, a research copilot, an inbox with a meeting notetaker, Scouter for investor discovery, events and conference intelligence, and a relationship graph. Altss also runs a live 35M+ company dataset.

Altss is UI-only. No CSV export, no public raw-data API, no CRM sync. Dakota is the opposite on all three, and for teams whose process runs through Salesforce that is a decisive difference.

#What ships in the platform today

Every capability below is live for customers today. They sit in two places: the Intelligence plans, and Altss Fundraising OS, which adds the fundraising and IR workflow on top. Roadmap items are named as roadmap on the platform page, never here.

Included in every Intelligence plan

Global plans from $15,000/year

  • AI-assisted research

    In-product natural-language research over the selected coverage, with supporting evidence and limitations.

  • Agentic knowledge base

    Research across available filings, registries and profiles with source evidence.

  • Scouter

    Investor discovery and targeting inside the authenticated research workflow.

Research copilot

Which family offices backed a first-time healthcare manager in the last 18 months?

1

Single family office · Boston

Source referenceDateUnknowns
2

Single family office · Geneva

Source referenceDateUnknowns
3

Multi-family office · Toronto

Source referenceDateUnknowns

Evidence and source availability vary by record.

Ask in plain language; inspect the supporting sources and unknowns. Interface illustration.

Altss Fundraising OS

From $25,000/year, in three configurations

  • Native investor CRM

    Altss is not a general-purpose CRM company. Altss Fundraising OS includes a native investor CRM and pipeline; Intelligence plans provide the research layer. Standard subscriptions do not include external CRM sync.

  • AI-assisted outreach

    Fundraising OS supports AI-assisted outreach and sequenced follow-ups under customer review and authorization. Altss does not independently solicit investors on behalf of customers or provide a bulk email-blasting service.

  • Meeting intelligence

    Meeting records and follow-up context inside authorized fundraising workflows.

  • Inbox and interaction context

    Customer-authorized communication context within the fundraising workflow.

  • Events intelligence

    Conference and event context for research and preparation.

  • Relationship and warm-path mapping

    Altss maps relationship paths that help users understand whom they already know around a target. Users independently decide whether to request an introduction through their own relationships. Altss does not make or broker investor introductions.

Pipeline
Researching24

Single family office · Zurich

Mandate signal

Endowment · US Midwest

Mandate signal

MFO · Singapore

Mandate signal
First contact11

Foundation · Nordics

Mandate signal

SFO · Gulf

Mandate signal
In diligence5

Pension · Netherlands

Mandate signal

Fund of funds · UK

Mandate signal
The investor CRM: allocator records move through your pipeline with their signals attached. Interface illustration.
Outreach · draft for review

Warm path

Your firm
Co-investor
Target allocator

Illustrative relationship evidence

Step 2 of 4 · follow-upAwaiting your approval
Send from your mailboxEdit
An illustrative relationship path beside a follow-up draft for customer review. Interface illustration.

Standard subscription intelligence is used in-platform. No public raw-data API, CSV export or bulk download of Altss content, data feed or graph-replication access is offered; customers can export their own data. Public factual pages and their Markdown equivalents may be read and cited. Agents accepts scoped requests for bounded paid results through manual commercial review; no automated external task transport is live.

#What is Dakota?

Dakota Marketplace is an institutional investment database built by Dakota's own fundraising team, which has been raising institutional capital since 2006. Its defining characteristic is that the research is done by people who fundraise for a living, and it shows in what the product chooses to track.

Per dakota.com, read August 6, 2026, Dakota publishes1:

  • 250,000+ LP accounts and 386,000+ verified contacts1
  • 1,433 US public pension funds, with research staff reading board materials1
  • 350+ institutional searches surfaced annually1
  • 78,000+ corporate pension funds and 14,000+ DB, DC and Taft-Hartley plans1
  • 17,000+ RIAs and 3,500+ family offices1
  • 340 broker-dealer platforms with 200,000+ contacts1
  • 1,000+ field consultants tagged and 4,000+ manager presentations to pensions1
  • 5,000+ customers across fundraising, deal, and investment teams3

Dakota integrates with Salesforce, HubSpot, DealCloud, Dynamo, Altvia, Pinnakl, Satuit, and Snowflake, and offers an API and flat-file delivery. Updates flow into the connected CRM automatically1.

Dakota publishes its pricing: $16,500 per year for the first user and $1,000 for each additional user, with the Salesforce app priced separately from $10,000 per company per year2. Publishing a price is rare in this category and it is genuinely useful to buyers.

#Coverage comparison

Family offices

Altss
9,000+ global
Dakota
3,500+ (US-weighted)

Read from dakota.com on August 6, 202614.

US public pension funds

Altss
3,344 US, 6,337 globally
Dakota
1,433 funds

Altss holds more pension entities; Dakota holds deeper research on each. Different products, and the counts do not settle it14.

Board materials read by analysts

Altss
Documents parsed, not analyst-read
Dakota
Across all 1,433 funds

Altss parses pension documents, IC minutes and OCR'd allocation pages, but does not staff analysts reading board packets or publish search alerts14.

Property ownership linked to firms

Altss
66,409 firm-linked
Dakota
Not published

From a corpus of 91,191,608 US parcels with 14,500,336 distinct owners resolved to entity type, plus French and APAC/MENA land registries and 534,223 deed records. Measured August 10, 2026.

Aircraft and vessels linked to owners

Altss
1,362 aircraft, 4,966 vessels
Dakota
Not published

Identified and linked to the owning entity, across 861 firms for aircraft. Measured August 10, 2026.

Relationship graph

Altss
7,871,996 edges
Dakota
Not published

Across 6,493,533 resolved entities, including 3,584,276 firm-to-firm edges and 1,866,710 introduction paths. Derived from public transactions, filings and registries. Measured August 10, 2026.

US public pensions: Dakota's category, not ours

Dakota's research team reads board packets across 1,433 US public pension funds and surfaces investment searches, RFPs, manager reviews, and consultant recommendations, producing 350+ searches a year1. This is manual work on documents that are public but unstructured, and it is the clearest example in this comparison of research beating automation.

Altss covers public pensions through CAFRs and filings, but does not read board minutes at that depth. If public pension mandates are your primary channel, Dakota gives you leading-edge deal flow that Altss does not replicate, and we would rather say so than pretend otherwise.

Family offices and the international question

Altss tracks 9,000+ family offices globally4; Dakota publishes 3,500+, weighted to the US1. As with every comparison in this category, the gap is mostly geographic. Dakota International and Dakota Middle East are real products, but Dakota's centre of gravity is North America, and Altss's OSINT pipeline was built global-first.

The practical test is your own list. Take twenty target offices from your pipeline and ask both platforms for the decision-maker, the current mandate, and a working email. If those twenty are US-based, the gap will be small. If half sit in Europe, the Gulf, or Asia, it will not be.

Counting LPs: why 250,000 and 150,000 are not comparable

Dakota publishes 250,000+ LP accounts1; Altss publishes 150,000+ private-markets entities4. These are different units. Dakota's account definition is broader and includes intermediary and sub-account records that Altss would not count as distinct institutional entities.

Neither number is wrong and neither is audited. Comparing them directly is the mistake. Compare instead on the segment you actually sell into, and ask both vendors to show coverage on named targets rather than on a total.

#Data freshness

Both platforms update quickly, by different mechanisms. Dakota's cadence comes from analysts reading documents daily. Altss's comes from an OSINT pipeline monitoring public sources, with each record dated by its source.

Altss

  • Public records carry source-specific dates where available. No population-wide measured refresh cadence or universal verification deadline is established here. Page modified, source captured, fact observed, entity verified and aggregate measured describe different events. Check the date attached to the relevant claim; a missing verification date means unknown. Stored source history does not establish a customer-facing historical-analysis interface.
  • Faster updates on personnel changes, mandate shifts, and fund launches as they become publicly observable
  • Every email bounce-checked before the record appears
  • Every record traceable to a public source with a verification timestamp

Dakota

  • Daily research updates on contacts, accounts, job moves, and allocator activity1
  • Board-material review across 1,433 public pension funds, which no automated pipeline currently matches1
  • Updates sync automatically into a connected CRM1
  • Research depth is strongest in North America, thinner internationally

Dakota is faster where a human reads the document. Altss is faster where no document is filed. On an unregistered family office that just hired a head of private markets, the second case is the one that matters.

#Methodology: OSINT vs. analyst-read research

The methodological difference here is not automation versus manual work. Both use both. It is which sources each platform organises itself around.

Dakota's approach: analyst-read research on the US institutional record. Dakota staff read public pension board packets, consultant recommendations, manager presentations, and search notices, then structure what they find. This produces intelligence that is genuinely leading-edge, because a search often appears in board minutes before it is announced anywhere else. The limit is throughput and geography: it scales with headcount, and it works best where the documents exist and are in English.

Altss's approach: OSINT-first, across many source types at once. SEC filings, pension CAFRs, Form 990 and 990-PF, endowment annual reports, sovereign wealth fund disclosures, verified corporate registries, public news, and published allocator statements. Every record traces to its public source with a timestamp. This scales across languages and jurisdictions, and it reaches entities that never file anything, but it does not read a 300-page board packet and tell you a search is coming.

The two miss different things. Dakota is unlikely to surface a Zurich single-family office quietly building a private credit allocation. Altss is unlikely to tell you that a Texas pension board discussed an emerging-manager programme last Tuesday. Which gap costs you more depends entirely on where your capital comes from.

#Pricing

Dakota's marginal seat is $1,000. Ours is not. Price the whole stack, not the line item, then decide.

Altss

Published. Family Office Intelligence $15,000/year, Global Investor Intelligence $18,000, Full Market Intelligence $25,000. One named user included; additional named users $5,000 each. Altss Fundraising OS from $25,000/year adds the investor CRM, AI outreach and meeting intelligence.

Dakota

Dakota (published on dakota.com):

  • $16,500/year for the first user2
  • $1,000/year per additional user2
  • Salesforce app from $10,000/company/year, requiring an active Marketplace membership2
  • Enterprise arrangements quoted directly

Both platforms publish a starting price, which is rare in this category. Dakota starts at $16,500 for the first user. Altss global plans start at $15,000 for Family Office Intelligence. Dakota's additional seats are cheaper than ours, so on a pure data-subscription line item Dakota wins at team scale and we are not going to argue it away. The Altss case is that the price also covers the CRM, outreach and notetaker you would otherwise buy separately. Price the whole stack, not the line item.

Dakota pricing read from dakota.com pricing guidance, August 6, 2026. Altss pricing per altss.com/pricing, August 2026. Both are list prices before any negotiated enterprise terms.

#

If your raise runs through US public pensions and consultants, buy Dakota. Adding Altss makes sense for the family-office and international side, not as a replacement.

Where Dakota wins

Dakota is very good at a job Altss does not attempt, and for a large part of the institutional market it is the right purchase.

  1. 01

    US public pension intelligence

    Analysts reading board materials across 1,433 public pension funds, surfacing searches, RFPs, manager reviews, and consultant recommendations1. This is the single most operationally useful dataset in US institutional fundraising and Altss does not replicate it.

  2. 02

    350+ investment searches a year

    Search activity often appears in board minutes before it is public anywhere else1. For a manager whose strategy fits public pension mandates, that lead time is worth the subscription on its own.

  3. 03

    Consultant and intermediary depth

    1,000+ field consultants tagged, 4,000+ manager presentations to pensions, 340 broker-dealer platforms, and 78,000+ corporate pension funds1. US institutional sales runs through consultants, and Dakota maps that layer properly.

  4. 04

    It syncs with the CRM you already run

    Salesforce, HubSpot, DealCloud, Dynamo, Altvia, Pinnakl, Satuit, and Snowflake, plus API and flat file, with updates flowing in automatically1. Altss has none of this by design. For a team with an established Salesforce process, this alone can decide it.

  5. 05

    Marginal seats are cheap

    $1,000 per additional user after the first2. A ten-person institutional sales team can be covered for around $25,500 a year. Per-seat, nothing else in this comparison is close.

  6. 06

    Built by fundraisers, and it shows

    Dakota's research team works alongside people actively raising capital, so the product tracks what fundraisers actually act on rather than what is easy to collect. That practitioner instinct is a real asset.

  7. 07

    Published pricing

    Dakota publishes its price2. So do we. In a category where almost everyone hides behind a sales call, both platforms deserve credit, and buyers should reward it.

If your raise runs through US public pensions and consultants, buy Dakota. Adding Altss makes sense for the family office and international side, not as a replacement.

#Where Altss wins

  1. 01

    Global family offices

    9,000+ globally4 against Dakota's 3,500+1, with the difference concentrated in Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and Latin America. For a family-office-weighted or international raise, this is usually the whole decision.

  2. 02

    International LP coverage generally

    Dakota International and Dakota Middle East are growing, but Dakota is North America first with international added on. Altss's pipeline was built global-first and works across languages and filing regimes.

  3. 03

    GP coverage

    GP coverage with strategy, fund status, LP-base visibility, and activity tracking4. Not a primary Dakota dataset.

  4. 04

    Emerging-manager identification

    Fund I and Fund II managers are identified from Form D and Form ADV filings4. Dakota is not built to identify emerging managers.

  5. 05

    The workflow is included, not integrated

    A built-in CRM and pipeline, AI-assisted outreach, a research copilot, an inbox with a meeting notetaker, Scouter, and events intelligence. Dakota's model is to feed the CRM you own; Altss's model is to be where the raise runs. For a team without a Salesforce admin, that difference is months of setup and a licence line nobody has to buy.

  6. 06

    Signals from sources nobody files

    Mandate shifts, personnel changes, and fund launches surface as they become publicly observable across many source types. Dakota's daily research is fast where documents exist; a large share of family office activity generates no document at all.

  7. 07

    A live 35M+ company dataset

    Companies and startups, completing the LP to GP to portfolio-company graph in one platform4.

#Full feature comparison

Full feature comparison of Altss and Dakota

US institutional channel

  • US public pension coverage

    Altss
    Yes: 3,344 US entities, 6,337 globally
    Dakota
    Partial: 1,433 funds
  • Investment search alerts

    Altss
    No
    Dakota
    Yes: 350+ per year
  • Consultant coverage

    Altss
    Partial: 42 firms tagged
    Dakota
    Yes: 1,000+ field consultants
  • Corporate pension plans

    Altss
    Yes: Within institutional set
    Dakota
    Yes: 78,000+
  • DB / DC / Taft-Hartley plans

    Altss
    Partial
    Dakota
    Yes: 14,000+
  • Broker-dealer platforms

    Altss
    Partial: 10,877 dual-registered broker-dealers, not platform-tagged
    Dakota
    Yes: 340 platforms, 200,000+ contacts

Global coverage

  • Global family offices

    Altss
    Yes: 9,000+
    Dakota
    Partial: 3,500+, US-weighted
  • Institutional LP records

    Altss
    Yes: Allocator-only count not separately stated; see dated coverage definitions
    Dakota
    Yes: 250,000+ accounts, broader definition
  • LP-to-fund commitments

    Altss
    Yes: 543,250 across 683,549 funds
    Dakota
    Yes: Covered via account research
  • Contact records

    Altss
    Yes: 2.6M+ (email bounce-checked before it appears)
    Dakota
    Yes: 386,000+
  • RIA coverage

    Altss
    Yes: 38,500+ matched to Form ADV
    Dakota
    Partial: 17,000+
  • GP / fund manager coverage

    Altss
    Yes: Strategy, fund status, LP base
    Dakota
    Partial: Not a focus
  • Companies dataset

    Altss
    Yes: Live 35M+
    Dakota
    Yes: Private and public companies
  • Emerging-manager identification

    Altss
    Yes: Via Form D / ADV filings
    Dakota
    Partial: Limited
  • International coverage

    Altss
    Yes: Global-first
    Dakota
    Partial: North America first

Data quality and workflow

  • Mandate-shift signals

    Altss
    Yes
    Dakota
    Yes: Via daily research
  • Source traceability

    Altss
    Yes: Per record
    Dakota
    Partial: Not published per record
  • Built-in CRM & pipeline

    Altss
    Yes
    Dakota
    No: Integrates with yours
  • AI-assisted outreach

    Altss
    Yes
    Dakota
    No
  • Research copilot

    Altss
    Yes
    Dakota
    No
  • Inbox + meeting notetaker

    Altss
    Yes
    Dakota
    No
  • Events & conference intelligence

    Altss
    Yes
    Dakota
    No
  • CRM integrations

    Altss
    No: By design
    Dakota
    Yes: 8 named platforms

Commercial

  • API / flat file

    Altss
    No: By design
    Dakota
    Yes
  • Bulk export

    Altss
    No: By design
    Dakota
    Yes
  • Published pricing

    Altss
    Yes: Global plans from $15K/yr; Fundraising OS from $25K
    Dakota
    Yes: $16.5K first seat, $1K after

Comparison accurate as of August 6, 2026. Dakota figures and pricing read from dakota.com on that date. Altss figures reflect internal database counts. Both platforms' figures are published list prices with no negotiated terms. A “No” against Altss on export, API, and CRM sync reflects a deliberate product decision.

#Which is right for you?

For fundraisers targeting US public pensions
Dakota. Board-material research across 1,433 funds and 350+ searches a year is the product, and Altss does not replicate it.
For US institutional sales running through consultants
Dakota. Consultant tagging, manager presentations, and intermediary coverage are built for exactly this motion.
For managers raising from global family offices
Altss. 9,000+ offices globally against Dakota's 3,500+, with the difference concentrated outside North America.
For emerging managers (Fund I–III)
Altss on coverage and workflow, Dakota on price. Fund I and II managers are identified from Form D and Form ADV filings. But a solo GP who only needs data and already has a CRM will find Dakota's $16,500 covers more of the US institutional market.
On the per-seat line item
Dakota's $1,000 additional seat is materially cheaper than ours. The Altss case rests on replacing CRM and outreach tooling, not on winning the data line item.
For teams whose process depends on CRM sync
Dakota. It syncs with eight named platforms and offers an API and flat file. Altss is UI-only by design, and if data must leave the platform this is a hard blocker.
For alternatives managers with an international LP base
Altss, or both. Dakota's North American depth and Altss's international coverage are genuinely complementary, and plenty of teams run both.

#Pros and cons

Altss

Pros

  • +9,000+ family offices globally, with real depth outside North America
  • +GP coverage with strategy, fund status, and LP-base visibility
  • +Emerging-manager identification via Form D and Form ADV monitoring
  • +Built-in CRM, AI outreach, research copilot, inbox and notetaker, Scouter, events intelligence
  • +Live 35M+ company dataset
  • +Public records carry source-specific dates where available. No population-wide measured refresh cadence or universal verification deadline is established here. Page modified, source captured, fact observed, entity verified and aggregate measured describe different events. Check the date attached to the relevant claim; a missing verification date means unknown. Stored source history does not establish a customer-facing historical-analysis interface.
  • +Published pricing, with global plans from $15,000

Cons

  • −Public pensions covered through CAFRs and filings rather than board-minute research
  • −Strongest on family offices and direct allocators; lighter on US consultants and Taft-Hartley plans
  • −No CRM integrations, no public raw-data API, no bulk export, all by design
  • −Additional seats cost more than Dakota's

Dakota

Pros

  • +1,433 US public pension funds with board materials read by analysts
  • +350+ institutional searches surfaced annually
  • +250,000+ LP accounts and 386,000+ verified contacts
  • +1,000+ field consultants and 4,000+ manager presentations
  • +Eight named CRM integrations plus API and flat file
  • +$1,000 per additional seat after the first
  • +Published pricing
  • +Built and maintained by working fundraisers since 2006

Cons

  • −Family office coverage is 3,500+ and US-weighted
  • −International coverage trails its North American depth
  • −GP and emerging-manager identification are not focus areas
  • −No built-in CRM, outreach, notetaker, or copilot; it feeds a workflow rather than being one
  • −LP account count uses a broader definition than institutional-entity counts elsewhere

#Using both together

Running both is common, and for institutional alternatives raises it is often the correct answer rather than a compromise.

  • Dakota for the US institutional channel: public pension searches, consultants, corporate plans, intermediary and broker-dealer coverage, and CRM sync
  • Altss for the global side: family offices, international LPs, GP intelligence, emerging-manager signals, and the outreach and pipeline workflow

The platforms are more complementary than competitive. Dakota's strength is depth on a US institutional record that is public but unstructured. Altss's strength is breadth across jurisdictions and entities that file nothing.

If budget forces one, decide on geography and LP type. US institutional and pension-heavy points to Dakota. Global and family-office-heavy points to Altss.

#Frequently asked questions

Can Altss replace Dakota for US public pension fundraising?
No, not fully. Dakota's analysts read board materials across 1,433 US public pension funds and surface 350+ investment searches a year. Altss covers public pensions through CAFRs and filings but does not do board-minute research at that depth. If the public pension channel is your primary motion, keep Dakota.
Can Dakota replace Altss for alternatives fundraising?
Not for a global or family-office-weighted raise. Dakota publishes 3,500+ family offices, weighted to the US, against 9,000+ globally on Altss, and GP coverage and emerging-manager identification are not Dakota focus areas.
Dakota says 250,000+ LP accounts and Altss says 150,000+. Who has more?
The numbers are not comparable. Dakota counts LP accounts on a broader definition that includes intermediary and sub-account records; Altss counts private-markets entities, which is not an LP-only count. Neither count is independently audited. Compare on the segment you sell into, and ask both vendors for coverage on twenty named targets instead.
Which is cheaper?
Dakota, on the line item. Dakota publishes $16,500 for the first user and $1,000 per additional user, so additional seats are materially cheaper than ours. Both platforms publish a starting price. The Altss case is that the subscription also covers the CRM, AI outreach and meeting notetaker you would otherwise license separately; if you already own and staff a CRM, Dakota is the cheaper data subscription and we will say so.
Does Altss integrate with Salesforce?
No. Altss does not include standard external CRM sync, no public raw-data API, and no CSV export. Dakota integrates with Salesforce, HubSpot, DealCloud, Dynamo, Altvia, Pinnakl, Satuit, and Snowflake. This is a deliberate Altss product decision rather than a roadmap gap, and for CRM-centric teams it is a reason to choose Dakota.
How do the two compare on data freshness?
Public records carry source-specific dates where available. No population-wide measured refresh cadence or universal verification deadline is established here. Page modified, source captured, fact observed, entity verified and aggregate measured describe different events. Check the date attached to the relevant claim; a missing verification date means unknown. Stored source history does not establish a customer-facing historical-analysis interface.
Do both publish pricing?
Yes, and that is unusual in this category. Dakota publishes $16,500 for the first seat and $1,000 per additional seat. Altss publishes $15,000 to $25,000 a year for its global Intelligence tiers, depending on tier, with one named user included and additional named users $5,000 each. You can compare both before taking a sales call.
Can I evaluate Altss before switching?
Yes, through a guided demo rather than a trial: Altss does not offer a free trial or a trial account. On the call we run the registry live against your own target list, geography, and LP type, including where coverage is thin. A demo is optional; published plans are bought online.

Bring your target list, not your assumptions.

Book a demo with twenty real LP targets. We will show you what Altss holds on each, tell you plainly where Dakota is the better answer, and scope pricing to your team.

Sources

  1. 1.Dakota coverage counts and integrations: dakota.com Marketplace pages, read August 6, 2026 (250,000+ LP accounts; 386,000+ verified contacts; 17,000+ RIAs; 3,500+ family offices; 78,000+ corporate pension funds; 1,433 public pension funds; 340 broker-dealer platforms with 200,000+ contacts; 350+ institutional searches annually; 4,000+ manager presentations; 1,000+ field consultants; 14,000+ DB, DC and Taft-Hartley plans; integrations with Salesforce, HubSpot, DealCloud, Dynamo, Altvia, Pinnakl, Satuit and Snowflake) View source ↗
  2. 2.Dakota published pricing: dakota.com pricing guidance, read August 6, 2026 ($16,500/year first user; $1,000/year per additional user; Salesforce app from $10,000/company/year, requiring active Marketplace membership) View source ↗
  3. 3.Dakota customer count: dakota.com, read August 6, 2026 (5,000+ customers across fundraising, deal, and investment teams) View source ↗
  4. 4.Altss internal database counts and live 35M+ company dataset: Internal platform metrics (9,000+ family offices and 150,000+ private-markets entities: approved published coverage, measurement date not recorded; live 35M+ companies, revised August 6, 2026; measured August 8, 2026: 683,549 fund records and 38,531 investment advisers matched to a Form ADV CRD, of which 14,764 report private funds, carrying $165.4T in regulatory assets under management) View source ↗