Updated:
Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 1249
The Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 1249 pension and insurance funds sit in Cicero, New York, a suburb of Syracuse, and represent the pooled retirement capital...
Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 1249
The Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 1249 pension and insurance funds sit in Cicero, New York, a suburb of Syracuse, and represent the pooled retirement capital of unionized linemen, wiremen, and electrical workers across a jurisdiction that spans central and northern portions of the state. The funds are jointly managed by Business Manager Mark Lawrence and Plan Administrator Ryan Youngman, operating in a Taft-Hartley multi-employer framework where signatory contractors contribute on behalf of their IBEW workforce to a centrally administered trust (public record). The parent local is a chartered affiliate of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, one of the largest building-trades unions in North America. The fund's investment posture is concentrated in private equity buyout exposures, reflecting a preference among mature Taft-Hartley plans for seasoned, control-oriented general partners who can generate durable cash-on-cash returns without exposing capital to early-stage venture risk. Real asset and real estate holdings are evident in the fund's direct ownership of the local's headquarters complex at 8531 Brewerton Road and the adjacent NYS Lineman's Safety Training Center — an industrial property leased back to the joint apprenticeship training program the local runs with other IBEW chapters under the Northeastern Apprenticeship and Training Program (NEAT) banner. The insurance fund operates a parallel vehicle alongside the pension fund, though the specific allocation split between the two entities is not publicly disclosed. With an estimated $462 million in plan assets (Altss estimate), Local 1249's pension fund operates at a scale typical of a mid-sized building-trades plan — large enough to access institutional private equity and real asset vehicles, small enough to remain off the radar of most data vendors. The joint training center partnership with NEAT and the national IBEW affiliation provide co-investment networks and fiduciary infrastructure that smaller standalone locals typically lack. No recent fund restructuring or manager mandate changes have been publicly reported. The structural differentiator for this fund is its embeddedness within a multi-generational union infrastructure: the local controls a revenue-producing real asset (the training center), participates in a national apprenticeship consortium that feeds its future workforce, and operates with the long-duration liability profile characteristic of a plan whose active members are still contributing. This triple identity — asset owner, landlord, and workforce developer — gives the trustees an information edge on regional construction and infrastructure economics that a purely financial investor cannot replicate.
General information
Firm type
Pension Fund
Location
Region
North America
Country
United States
City
Cicero
Corporate office
Cicero, NY, United States
Principals
Mark Lawrence
Business Manager and Financial Secretary
Ryan Youngman
Plan Administrator for the Insurance and Pension Funds
Sector focus
Frequently asked questions
Who runs investment decisions at IBEW Local 1249?
The Board of Trustees, composed of equal representation from the union (IBEW) and contributing signatory contractors, makes fiduciary-level asset allocation and manager selection decisions. Day-to-day administration is led by Business Manager Mark Lawrence and Plan Administrator Ryan Youngman. The specific identity of any external investment consultant or outsourced chief investment officer (OCIO) retained by the fund is not publicly disclosed.
What investment stages does IBEW Local 1249 typically target?
The fund's strategy tags indicate a concentrated focus on buyout-stage private equity, which for a union pension fund of this size usually means commitments to established middle-market and large-cap general partners that prioritize capital preservation and current income alongside moderate growth. No venture capital or early-stage allocation has been identified in publicly available records.
Profile maintained by Altss using OSINT (open-source intelligence), regulatory filings, licensed data partners, and verified direct submissions. Read the methodology. Last updated: . Continuous refresh with full update cycles at least every 30 days.
Need institutional-grade insight on pension funds?
Altss delivers:
Prefer a guided tour?
We’ll walk you through: